PDA

View Full Version : Question about a site


FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 09:40 PM
So I was on poetry.com and I decided to enter this poem contest so I entered a poem I wrote about a month ago. This was a while back. I checked the mail this morning and there was a letter in there from the poetry site. It said my poem is a semi finalist in the contest and that I could win money. I was like sweet you know. But some people have told me that www.poetry.com is a scam. That they dont send in money and this and that. It would be a bummer if it was a scam. Does anyone know anything about this? Has anyone been to the site and entered the contest or anything? Good thing is if it is a scam then I wouldnt really lose out on anything cuz I didnt send in any money or nothing and Im not either. Thanks.

Inval1d
02-21-2004, 09:42 PM
I never heard of it before. Is it a very popular site? if not, it could be a scam.

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 09:43 PM
i believe it is a poular site. If it was a scam site then it wouldnt still be on right?

Inval1d
02-21-2004, 09:44 PM
yeah if it was a scam site, The number of people who go there would probably be low.

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 09:47 PM
it says like 5 million people submit poems all the time. And its a good site. Just hope that its not all BS

Inval1d
02-21-2004, 09:49 PM
The site looks legit but some of those prices in the rewards of the contests looks kinda scammish. Unless it's a good site I would give $1,000 dollars away for a peom.

Switzer
02-21-2004, 09:50 PM
I would say its a scam.But evn if it is a scam, its a good scam cuz you might or might not win anything but you don't lose anything either

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 09:51 PM
If it is a scam IM gonna cry :( got my hopes up and everything

Switzer
02-21-2004, 10:01 PM
Well if you really wanna get acknowledged for your poetry skills, you should join a real poetry contest in real life

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 10:08 PM
I just want to win money :D

Switzer
02-21-2004, 10:12 PM
Oh, then lottery's an easy choice

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 10:13 PM
do you know if there is a site to find out what sites are legit or scams?

collegeboy
02-21-2004, 11:14 PM
I've heard about that site before, but can't make an honest claim as to whether its a scam or not, but here is what I hear the scam maybe....

the site wants to publish your poem and it wants you to buy stuff from it, thats probably how the site works anyways.

Strangelove
02-21-2004, 11:18 PM
Almost everyone is a winner.
http://www.author-me.com/poetryscams.htm
http://www.eliteskills.com/writing_scams/poetry.com.scam.php

evilsquishy
02-21-2004, 11:26 PM
Scam, my poem kept going onto each round and all I got was a bunch of junk emails from them saying I had a chance to win, if I just sent something in.

JimmyDean
02-21-2004, 11:46 PM
LOL, I got those letters in the mail too :D

FilmJerk
02-21-2004, 11:59 PM
why the heck is this damn site still running. I mean this site should of been shut down years ago. Sons of *****es.